James M. Cain

James M. Cain was an American author and journalist known for his hard-boiled crime novels. His most famous works include 'The Postman Always Rings Twice' (1934), 'Double Indemnity' (1943), and 'Mildred Pierce' (1941), which were all adapted into successful films. Cain's writing is characterized by its terse prose, complex characters, and exploration of the darker aspects of human nature.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Postman Always Rings Twice

    This novel is a thrilling tale of passion, murder, and betrayal. The story revolves around a drifter who becomes involved in an adulterous affair with a married woman. Together, they plot to kill her older husband for the insurance money. However, their plan spirals out of control, leading to unexpected consequences and a shocking conclusion. The narrative explores themes of lust, greed, and the destructive power of obsession.

  2. 2. Double Indemnity

    "Double Indemnity" is a gripping crime novel that follows the story of an insurance salesman who becomes entangled in a dangerous plot with a seductive woman, leading to murder and deceit. As the protagonist finds himself increasingly trapped in a web of lies, he must navigate the consequences of his actions while trying to outsmart those around him. With its noir atmosphere and complex characters, this thrilling tale explores themes of greed, desire, and the destructive power of temptation.