Naguib Mahfouz




Naguib Mahfouz (Egyptian Arabic: نجيب محفوظ‎ Nagīb Maḥfūẓ, IPA: [næˈɡiːb mɑħˈfuːzˤ]; December 11, 1911 – August 30, 2006) was an Egyptian writer who won the 1988 Nobel Prize for Literature. He is regarded as one of the first contemporary writers of Arabic literature, along with Tawfiq el-Hakim, to explore themes of existentialism. He published 34 novels, over 350 short stories, dozens of movie scripts, and five plays over a 70-year career. Many of his works have been made into Egyptian and foreign films.





The best books of all time by Naguib Mahfouz

  1. 951 . Children of Gebelawi by Naguib Mahfouz

    Children of Gebelawi, is a novel by the Egyptian writer and Nobel laureate Naguib Mahfouz. It is also known by its Egyptian dialectal transliteration, Awlad Haretna, formal Arabic transliteration, ...

  2. 1072 . Miramar by Naguib Mahfouz

    Miramar is a novel authored by Naguib Mahfouz, an Egyptian Nobel Prize-winning author. It was written in 1967 and translated into English in 1978.

  3. 1100 . Midaq Alley by Naguib Mahfouz

    This article is about the Naguib Mahfouz novel. For the film of the novel, see Midaq Alley (film). For the alley, see Khan El-Khalili. Midaq Alley is the English Translation of Zuqāq al-Midaq by...

  4. 2204 . Palace of Desire by Naguib Mahfouz

    Continuing the story of al-Sayyid Ahmad and his family, this is a fascinating look at Egypt in the 1920s. Increased personal freedoms mix tenuously with traditions of family control, as two of Ahma...

    - Google
  5. 2205 . Palace Walk by Naguib Mahfouz

    Palace Walk is the first novel in Nobel Prize-winner Naguib Mahfouz’s magnificent Cairo Trilogy, an epic family saga of colonial Egypt that is considered his masterwork. The novels of the Cairo Tri...

    - Google
  6. 2206 . Sugar Street by Naguib Mahfouz

    A Nobel laureate's collection of five original tales inspired by the Egypt of the pharaohs brings the world of ancient Egypt face-to-face with modern times. Reprint.

    - Google