James Kelman




James Kelman (born 9 June 1946) is a Scottish novelist, short story writer, playwright and essayist. His novel A Disaffection was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction in 1989. Kelman won the 1994 Booker Prize with How Late It Was, How Late. In 1998 Kelman was awarded the Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Award. His 2008 novel Kieron Smith, Boy won both of Scotland's principal literary awards: the Saltire Society's Book of the Year and the Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year.





The best books of all time by James Kelman

  1. 793 . How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

    How late it was, how late is a 1994 stream of consciousness novel written by Scottish writer James Kelman. The Glasgow-centred work is written in a working class Scottish dialect, and follows Sammy...

  2. 1120 . The Busconductor Hines by James Kelman

    The Busconductor Hines is the first published novel of the Scottish writer James Kelman, published in 1984. This novel is the first to be published by Kelman, but it was written after A Chancer.

  3. 1480 . Kieron Smith, Boy by James Kelman

    Rejected by his brother and largely ignored by his parents, Kieron Smith finds comfort - and endless stories - in the home of his much-loved grandparents. But when his family move to a new housing ...

    - Google