Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson is a renowned British author known for her novels that often explore themes of time, fate, and coincidences. She has received widespread acclaim for her literary work, which includes 'Life After Life' and 'Behind the Scenes at the Museum', the latter winning the Whitbread Book of the Year Award in 1995. Atkinson's writing is characterized by its wit, intricate plotting, and deep character development.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Life After Life

    "Life After Life" follows the story of Ursula Todd who is born and dies repeatedly in February 1910. Each time Ursula dies, her life restarts, with each successive life bringing different circumstances and decisions. The novel explores themes of fate, free will, and the infinite possibilities of existence. Through Ursula's many lives, the narrative provides different perspectives on significant historical events, including both World Wars.

  2. 2. Behind of the Scenes at the Museum

    The novel is a unique blend of family saga and historical fiction, told from the perspective of Ruby Lennox, whose narrative begins before her birth and spans over three generations of women in her family. Ruby's story is interwoven with "footnotes" that delve into the lives of her ancestors, revealing secrets, tragedies, and the complexity of their relationships. The book explores themes of motherhood, loss, and identity, while providing a humorous and poignant look at life in the 20th century England.

  3. 3. A God in Ruins

    "A God in Ruins" is a novel that tells the story of Teddy Todd, a World War II bomber pilot, and his life before, during, and after the war. The narrative alternates between different time periods, exploring Teddy's childhood, his experiences in the war, and his later life as a husband, father, and grandfather. The book delves deep into the effects of war, the passage of time, and the complexities of family relationships, offering a poignant exploration of a man's life and the historical events that shape it.

  4. 4. Case Histories

    "Case Histories" is a gripping mystery novel that follows the story of a private investigator who is hired to solve three seemingly unrelated cold cases that took place decades ago. As he delves deeper into the mysteries, he uncovers dark secrets and hidden connections between the cases. The narrative is a complex web of intrigue, suspense, and drama, filled with well-crafted characters and unexpected plot twists that keep the reader hooked till the end.