Arthur William Upfield

Arthur William Upfield (1890–1964) was a British-Australian author best known for his series of detective novels featuring Detective Inspector Napoleon Bonaparte ('Bony'), a half-Aboriginal, half-white policeman. His works are noted for their colorful and accurate descriptions of the Australian outback and for addressing social issues of the time, including racial inequality.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. Death of a Lake

    In "Death of a Lake", a young woman goes missing in the Australian Outback, causing a detective to suspect foul play when a local lake begins to dry up and reveal disturbing secrets. The detective has to navigate treacherous environmental conditions, local superstitions, and a cast of eccentric characters to solve the mystery. As the water levels continue to drop, the tension rises, culminating in a dramatic climax that reveals the truth about the missing woman and the secrets hidden beneath the lake's surface.

  2. 2. The Bone is Pointed: An Inspector Bonaparte Mystery #6

    This mystery novel centers around Inspector Bonaparte, who investigates the disappearance of stockman Jack Anderson from a cattle station in the Australian Outback. As he delves into the case, Bonaparte faces a unique challenge: he's been cursed by an Aboriginal wizard. As his health declines, he must solve the mystery before the curse takes its toll. The narrative weaves elements of detective fiction with insights into Aboriginal culture and the harsh realities of life in the Australian Outback.