N. K. Jemisin

N. K. Jemisin is an American science fiction and fantasy writer, best known for her Inheritance Trilogy and the Broken Earth series, the latter of which won her three consecutive Hugo Awards for Best Novel. Her work often explores themes of cultural conflict and oppression.


This list of books are ONLY the books that have been ranked on the lists that are aggregated on this site. This is not a comprehensive list of all books by this author.

  1. 1. The Fifth Season

    A woman searches for her kidnapped daughter in a world ravaged by a catastrophic climate change event known as the Fifth Season. Simultaneously, the narrative follows a young girl with destructive powers and a man struggling to control his own similar abilities. The story explores themes of oppression, survival, and the destructive power of nature, all set in a dystopian world where the earth is constantly in flux, and society is strictly divided and controlled.

  2. 2. The Stone Sky

    In this concluding volume of a groundbreaking fantasy trilogy, the fate of a world hangs in the balance as a mother and daughter find themselves on opposite sides of an apocalyptic war. The mother, an orogene with the power to control seismic activity, embarks on a quest to end the perpetual disasters plaguing the earth by harnessing the power of an ancient, mythical obelisk. Meanwhile, her daughter, who possesses similar abilities, is manipulated by forces seeking to use her powers for their own ends. As their paths converge, the complex layers of oppression, survival, and the struggle for freedom are revealed, culminating in a climactic battle that will determine the future of their world.

  3. 3. The Broken Earth Trilogy

    The Broken Earth Trilogy is a captivating science fiction series set in a post-apocalyptic world where a woman with the power to control seismic activity is on a quest to rescue her kidnapped daughter. This world, called the Stillness, regularly experiences catastrophic climate change events known as Seasons, which its inhabitants constantly prepare for. The series explores themes of oppression, survival, and the human capacity for adaptation, all while providing a thrilling and poignant narrative that keeps readers engaged from start to finish.

  4. 4. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

    In this fantasy novel, a young woman finds herself thrust into a volatile and treacherous world of politics and power when she is unexpectedly named an heir to the ruling family of a vast empire. As she navigates the dangerous court intrigues, she discovers her own latent magical abilities and forms complex relationships with the enslaved gods who are the source of the family's power. With the throne at stake, she must contend with deadly scheming, her own family's dark secrets, and the weight of her potential role in reshaping the kingdom's future.

  5. 5. The Obelisk Gate

    In the second installment of a groundbreaking fantasy trilogy, the world grapples with an apocalyptic season of catastrophic climate change known as the Fifth Season. The narrative follows a mother searching for her missing daughter while coming to terms with her own seismic powers that could either save humanity or hasten its end. As communes and factions struggle for survival and dominance, the story delves into themes of oppression, resistance, and the complex nature of human relationships, all set against a backdrop of geological and magical upheaval. The protagonist must navigate a landscape of political intrigue and ancient mysteries to unlock the potential of obelisks, powerful artifacts that could be the key to the world's salvation or destruction.