Jacob the Liar by Jurek Becker

Jacob the Liar is a novel written by the East German Jewish author Jurek Becker published in 1969. The German original title is Jakob der Lügner. Becker was awarded the Heinrich-Mann Prize (1971) and the Charles Veillon Prize (1971) after the publication of his bestseller. The novel was made into two films, Jacob the Liar (1975) by Frank Beyer, which was nominated for Best foreign language film at the Academy Awards, and Jakob the Liar (1999), a Hollywood production starring Robin Williams. Jacob the Liar was first translated into English by Melvin Kornfeld in 1975, but without Becker's input. A new English translation was made in 1990 by Leila Vennewitz and Becker, published in 1996 it won the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize.

The 1245th greatest fiction book of all time

This book is on the following lists:

  1. - 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die (The Book)

Buy This Book

Name Binding Sales Rank Lowest New Lowest Used Published
Jacob the Liar Hardcover 2226796 $44.26 $1.99 1996
Jakob the Liar Paperback 593605 $59.59 $3.00 1999
Jacob the liar Hardcover 7344694 $4.09
Jacob the Liar Mass Market Paperback 1893260 $58.81 $1.99 1997
Jacob the Liar Audible Audiobook 158247 $13.99 2013
Jacob the Liar Paperback 1154882 $14.95 $11.20 2013
Jacob The Liar: A Novel Kindle Edition 521678 $1.99 1996